3 Months post-partum & a dead animal in my shower drain?

When I was pregnant with lil miss Amira I remember suddenly having thick, luscious and shiny hair! Pre-pregnancy I have ALWAYS been one of those girls who shed quite a bit a hair. I think this is because I have curly hair; I actually don’t comb/brush my hair unless I am washing it; so I guess when I am putting it up or “running” my hands through it it only makes sense that a “few” strands would fall out. BUT when I got pregnant the first time I was BEYOND shocked to see hardly any shedding!

Enter lil Amira being 3 months old and I remember clearly hubby was holding her as I washed my hair… I remember it being really difficult to comb my conditioner through, that there was actually quite a few “matted” areas that hurt to even TRY to get my afro comb through! Post shower I remember bending down to pick up my strands from the drain and lo and behold – it literally looked like I had drowned a rat! Hubby and I freaked out! for the next few months each and every wash resulted in copious amounts of hair being shed – it was depressing and beginning to worry me when I could seriously FEEL that I now had a LOT less hair! Not long after that I started my ‘No Poo’ regime and started washing my hair with bicarb and water and then ‘conditioning’ my hair with apple cider vinegar and found that almost instantly I started to shed SO much less!

When I got pregnant with Rocco I remember WAITING for that thick, shiny hair… but it never came! Everything more or less just stayed the same… my hair looked exactly the same. I couldn’t help but wonder if all the extra hair and lusciousness of it the first time around was because I was having a girl and that the second time around (as I was having a boy) all that extra hormone wasn’t quite as necessary.

So now 3 months later I have gone to wash my hair and sadly report that there now ANOTHER dead rat in my drain! I’ve washed my hair three times since the 11th and each time I have shed a sad amount of hair… don’t even get me started about how difficult it is to even COMB… I did not expect this (again) this time around as it seemed that with this pregnancy I hadn’t gotten any “extra” hair that needed to be discarded. I can only hope that the shedding doesn’t go for much longer as its driving me crazy – both when I am washing my hair and the fact that both hubby and I have noticed that I seem to forever be cleaning up strands of hair from my bathroom floor!

Leave a comment